Stone Garden Markers

Ever since I first started gardening (ohmygosh ten years ago), I’ve wanted to make some really unique garden markers, but I could never think of a really great idea. Last year my friend Jill blogged about Garden Trinkets, and she posted some pictures of garden markers that she had found on Etsy. The ones that really struck me were the cutlery stamped with the name of the plant. So beautiful! I REALLY wanted to make my own, but I didn’t have a stamping kit and I don’t think Dan would love the idea of me stealing random utensils out of the drawer (because to be honest, that’s what I was thinking of doing). So instead I decided to collect some rocks from my backyard and paint them.

*It’s now been about 6 months since I originally posted this, and the growing season is well over. These worked out well, but as my plants grew and really burst! (I got some huge plants this year) these markers basically disappeared under them. I kept having to move them farther out, which was fine, but I think for next year I’ll search the antique stores for some really pretty cutlery and see about getting a stamping kit. Or, I might save myself the trouble and buy something pretty off of Etsy. Speaking of which:

This is what I’m taking about–beautiful! These are from CambriaLaine’s Etsy store. I love the decorative silverware. So pretty!

These are from WoodenHive’s Etsy store. I really like these too, and there are also ones with knives and forks.

Okay, I saved the best for last. I stumbled on these and nearly had a heart attack. If you know me at all, you know I love gnomes in my garden. These are fantastic. These are from TheGnomeShack’s Etsy store, and you can bet I’ll be shopping there soon.

While we’re at it, a picture of just a few of my gnomes:

Oin
Gloin
Nomar
Leave a Reply

